Quick Facts: 

2016 Alumni Award of Merit Honorees

  • Alan K. Levin, C’64, ASC’ 65
  • Paul S. Levy, Esq., L’72
  • William L. Mack, W’61
  • Jayne Davis Perilstein, W’80
  • Ehsan “Nanou” El-Tahry Zayan, CW’73

On Friday, October 28, Homecoming Weekend Featuring Arts and Culture kicked off with the annual event that honors outstanding alumni achievement and dedication to the University of Pennsylvania and the Penn community at large. The Alumni Award of Merit Gala was held at the Annenberg Center’s Zellerbach Theatre. In attendance were Penn President Amy Gutmann, Chair of the Board of Trustees, David Cohen, L’81, and Penn Alumni President Julie Beren Platt, C’79.

“The people we applaud tonight come from all over the map, from all different disciplines, and from across generations, but their devotion to Penn unites them,” Platt said, “Their efforts to make our great University an even better version of itself for today and the future is the core of their volunteer leadership.”

After a performance by the Penn Glee Club and remarks by Mrs. Platt, President Gutmann and David Cohen, the 2016 awards were presented. This year’s honors included the Alumni Award of Merit, the Young Alumni Award, the Creative Spirit Award, the Alumni Club Award of Merit, the Class Award of Merit, and the David N. Tyre Award for Excellence in Class Communications.

To learn more about the Alumni Award of Merit, click here.